New Brunswick.—The New Brunswick Electric Power Commission, incorporated under provincial legislation, owns and operates two generating stations: an 11,000 h.p. hydro-electric plant at Musquash, twelve miles west of Saint John: and a 15,000 h.p. plant at Grand Lake in the Minto coal area. Transmission lines of 66,000 volts connect the two plants with each other and with the cities of Saint John and Moncton. A 33,000-volt line delivers power from the Grand Lake plant to Fredericton and Marysville. A 66,000-volt line delivers power from the Grand Lake plant to the towns of Newcastle and Chatham.

Power is sold en bloc to the cities of Saint John, Moncton, and Fredericton and to the town of Sussex, supplying 17,150 customers in these communities. Power is also distributed directly by the Commission to villages and rural districts, serving directly 10,600 customers. The high-voltage line mileage is 307 and 1,100 miles of distributing lines are in operation. The Commission has under construction rural distribution lines totalling 85 miles in length which will add 250 customers.

The Commission has a plant investment of \$8,022,000 and an annual revenue of \$1,044,000.

Manitoba.—The Manitoba Power Commission commenced its operations in 1919 under the authority of the Electrical Power Transmission Act. empowered the Commission to make provision for generating electric energy, to enter into contracts for the purchase of power in bulk from generating agencies, and for its transmission and sale to municipalities, corporations, and individuals. Legislation was passed in 1929 by which the Government undertook to pay interest charges and sinking fund charges on an amount not exceeding 50 p.c. of the capital cost of the construction and erection of equipment required for the generation and transmission of electric energy. In 1931 passage of the Electrical Power Transmission Act reorganized the administration of the Commission by establishing a Board and giving to it additional authority.

The first transmission line was completed in 1920 to serve the city of Portage la Prairie. Power was sold to the city in bulk. With Portage la Prairie as a nucleus, the lines were rapidly extended over the entire southern and western portions of the province, and at the present time the Commission is serving 96 cities, towns, and villages. During this period the Commission took over several municipally-owned plants, notably the plants at Birtle, Brandon, Virden, and Minnedosa. Each of these services has now been tied into the main system and the plants are relegated to standby service. The Commission purchases energy from the municipallyowned plant at Dauphin and distributes it to outlying districts. Power is also purchased from the Winnipeg Electric Company at Selkirk and distributed to the summer resort areas along lake Winnipeg. The Commission has made rapid strides in the promotion of electrical services for farms. The farm rates have been lowered and the cost of building farm extensions has been considerably reduced. In 1937 the Commission made its first incursion into the eastern part of the province, when the towns of Whitemouth and Elma were served.

In 1936 arrangements were completed for the export of a block of power to the Inter-State Power Company at Niche, North Dakota.

The Commission owns and operates a central steam-heating system at Brandon, supplying heat to the business part of the city and to part of the residential section. It also owns and operates the Brandon gas plant.

The object of the Commission is to extend service to any district in which the available revenue is sufficient to justify the necessary capital expenditure.